Barbapapa is a character in a series of children’s books. It was originally written in French in 70’s and later translated into over 30 languages. It’s about a colorful ghost family who can transform into any shape. I originally thought the writer is from Sweden but found out they are French. Barbe à papa is French for cotton candy, or “father’s beard”,

It’s not so popular in U.S, but very popular in Western Europe and Japan. I’m very familiar with the books, cartoons, and merchandise.

As a child, I didn’t own any Barbapapa books, but my cousin had the whole series back then. He lived 5 minutes away from my house and we are the same age, so we grew up together. Barbapapa was his favorite and he always had cute Barbapapa toys & dolls. I wasn’t exactly a sweet girl next door, more like a girl who’ll bring you troubles, so I often teased him for having cute things around. But he didn’t mind and kept holding the dolls and just read me again his Barbapapa books. He was such a nice boy, and I’m sure he still is….

The Barbapapa bento here is with pink ume rice and pesto chicken.The body is a rice ball and more chicken pieces inside. I’m proud of myself for these 8 fingers, adjusted by using toothpicks in the end. Cutting nori for eyebrows was a little tricky, but while searching the images online, I thought of my childhood and my good cousin, so it was worth it.

日本では昔からお馴染みのバーバパパですが、アメリカでの知名度はあまり高くないようです。西ヨーロッパ人なら勿論誰でも 知っているようで、うちにあるバーバ・スリッパを見て騒ぐのはヨーロッパの女の子達です。
うちに本がないのでオンライン検索をしたところ、色々と 知らなかったことが判りました。まず、なぜか私は作者の夫婦がスウェーデン人だと思い込んでいたのですが、本と同じ、フランスのようです。それでバーバパ パをいうのは”綿菓子”、または”パパのひげ”(barbe à papa)という意味らしいです。TVアニメの主題歌も日本版はオリジナルとのことです。知りませんでした〜。

バーバパパというと、幼な じみのいとこを思い出します。小さい頃、同い年のいとこが近所に住んでいていつも遊んでいたのですが、彼がこのシリーズをお気に入りで本を沢山持っていま した。本だけでなく、男の子の部屋なのにバーバパパのぬいぐるみなども並んでいて、私はよくからかったりしたものでした。私はチビで格好だけはかわい いものを着せられつつも、中身は男の子よりワイルドな悪ガキだったのですが、こののっぽのいとこは穏やかで心優しい子だったので、私の攻撃も気 にせず私にこのお気に入りの本を読んでくれたりしていました。懐かしいなあ。

お弁当は見ての通りです。梅ごはんのおにぎりの中身と背景は ペストソースで和えたチキンです。指先(両手で8本)は爪楊枝でなんとなく形づけました。まつげ(まゆげ?)を切るのだけは少し面倒でしたが、昔のバーバ パパの映像を見たり小さい頃のことを思い出したりして楽しく作りました。

食べる本人はバーバパパ知らないんですけどね〜。

