My dear friend Junko is having a baby boy soon. She was visiting NYC from Israel, where she will have the baby, so Roy and I hosted a baby shower for her. Since this was my first time and the general idea of baby shower is a bit scary for me, so we decided to avoid some pastel-colored girl stuff and had a casual cocktail party.

Her old nickname is Kumako, which is bear-girl. So the theme was bears! I got many teddy bears to decorate the room and remade their eyes and and eye brows.  I personally never enjoyed stuffed animals, but they stayed in our place for 2 weeks and I started to feel that they are kind of cute.

Making the bear inspired food was fun for Isabel & I. We cut out the bear shapes out of savory cakes, crackers, chips, and cheese…etc,  and put eyes and noses for bear rice balls.  I did spend little too much time making bear toothpicks out of plastic clay.

7 out of the 10 bears went to Israel with Junko. I’m hoping they will be good friends for the baby boy. We are all so excited to hear of his arrival in October.

Congratulations Junko and Gil!

.

仲良しの友人、淳子ちゃんに子供が産まれるので、初めてベイビーシャワーをうちで主催しました。

シャワーは結婚する人や子供が産まれる人を祝ってプレゼントのシャワーを浴びせる,というアメリカならではの習慣らしいです。

もともとは女性のみが 集まりパステルカラーのいかにも〜な飾り付けのなかゲームやスピーチ。。。。という私にとっては辛くなりそうなイベントなのですが、幸い相談の上、男女混合の気軽なカクテルパーティーになりました。社交的なロイ(夫)が一緒にホストできて良かったです。

イスラエル在住で出産もイスラエルで、という事なので、NYの彼女の友人達も皆お祝いが出来るのが嬉しくて、なんとも幸せなムードのパーティーでした。

淳子ちゃんの昔のニックネームが”クマ子”と聞いていたので,テーマはクマ。熊づくしにしてみました。

飾り付けもお店で売っているベイビーシャワー関連の”カワイイ”もの達を横目に、大きめのテディ・ベアをたくさん買い込み”クマ子”に似せるためフェルトの目と眉毛を追加。部屋中 にごっそり配置しました。ぬいぐるみが苦手な私ですが、顔を細工した上、家に2週間もいたので意外にも愛着が湧いてしまいました、といいつつ飾る為に安全ピンを刺しつなげたりしたのを指摘されたりして。。。。

食べ物はクマの爪楊枝作りに始まりケーキ、クラッカー、チーズなどはクマ型に抜き、おにぎり、いなり寿司も全てクマで す。きゅうりのスライスはクマの足跡にして飾りました。こまごまとした道具を引っ越しのために荷造りしてしまい,寸前にばたばたと引っ張りだしたりと 小さいパニックもありましたが、フレーバーパレットの片割れ、イザベルも当日は早く来て手伝ってくれたのでセッティングもなんとか時間迄終わりました。ユニフォームを着てお約束の完成写真は取りましたが、その後ゲストが到着し始めたので着替え直す間がなかったのが残念なところです。

用意したテディ・ベアも7匹はイスラエルへ連れて行ってもらえました。ぜひベビーベッドの周りをぐるりと囲んで頂きたいと思います(安全ピンで固定して)。


あとは赤ちゃん誕生のニュースを待つばかり。がんばれ〜。