Another Miffy bento.

 

The Chinese New Year Started today. The year of rabbit. I used to lived in Chinatown Manhattan before I moved to Brooklyn. Around this season, crowded Chinatown got even more crowded for New Year,  so I was always busy thinking of ways to avoid the traffic. But red & gold decorations showed how big holiday the New Year is for Chinese people and it was nice to get in the festive feeling.

The most memorable time in my 6 years of Chinatown life was shopping for groceries in the neighborhood. It was hard for me in beginning to deal with their customs; I got elbowed and my turn for at the check out line never come. But I somehow found the way to survive, and ended up with many stores that welcomed me nicely, as a regular customer. For a lot of reasons, it was a great experience to see a bit of Chinese culture/custom while I stayed there.

I hope everyone have a great bunny year!

*

 

中国の暦では今日からが新年です。
ブルックリンに引っ越す前はマンハッタンのチャイナタウンに住んでいました。毎年この時期は赤と金色で飾り付けされたお店や通りを見ては華やいだ気分に便乗していました。いつものごちゃごちゃした町が更に混雑する事もあり、なるべく近所での用事を避けるように予定をたてるのは必須でした。

チャイナタウンの生活は6年程だったのですが、なんといっても日々の買い物が思い出深く、はじめはお店に行くと肘鉄に横はいりの連続で弱気になっていましたが、徐々に顔なじみになりおまけしてくれるお店も出来ていって嬉しかったです。色々対応を試してみた甲斐がありました。(極端なことを言うと、当時は普通に順番がきて支払った後”ありがとうございました”と言われるだけで好印象に思えてました。)アメリカに居ながら中国の文化/習慣も少し体験出来て、良くも悪くも印象深い経験になりました。

この頃はあまり関係なくなってしまいましたが。せめてなにかうさぎ関連をと思い、またミッフィー弁当です。

 

 

 

