OKUIZOME (First Meal) is Japanese tradition that parents carry out on the 100th day after the birth of their child. We did this early on Remi’s 63rd day, because my mother was here (and she could cook the traditional meal!). By performing the ritual, they hope their child will always have good food in abundance and will never go hungry for the rest of her life. We added a sparkle, just to make it more festive. Of course Remi cannot eat anything but milk yet, but we pretended to eat adult food at this ceremony. We hope that she enjoys all types food!

生後100日目に行うというお食い初め・お箸初めですが、私の母がNY滞在中のため63日目にして決行しました。色々手に入らない食品が多い中、和食にしたい私と初孫のお祝いのために、母が見事に和風に揃えてくれました。食べさせるマネの所では何度も本当に口を開けるので、まさに鳥のヒナのようでしたが、このさき実際に食事をあげられるようになるのが楽しみになりました。年長者である母が”食べさせ”て、沢山の写真を撮り、それからお誕生日のように(食卓用の)花火などでお祝いムードにして大人は食事を楽しみました。食べる事に興味のある子になってくれるといいな。

 

