Because of Hurricane Sandy, Halloween was pretty much canceled in New York.  No parade and very a few kids trick or treating. Nonetheless, we managed to celebrate Isabel’s birthday over the weekend with a party. Many of our guests had issues due to the storm, and the party was the perfect way for them to move past the tragedy focus on something frivolous and fun.

Isabel’s wish for her birthday party was a costume party. We decided to go with a “monster” theme. For me, preparing Halloween themed food presents a lot of options to work with. Putting faces on food is always fun, especially when I can make them look like crazy monsters.

Happy Birthday Isabel.

Menu

Scream Focaccia w/ Green pea dip

Pumpkin Puff Monster

Ginger Turkey Mummy  Burger

Monster Croquette

 Pesto Chicken Monster Pie

Monster Couscous

 Green Centipede Salad

Bone Cookie

Purple Monster Cake

ハリケーンの被害でハロウィーンどころではなかったNYですが、イザベルの誕生日だったので数日後にパーティーを決行し ました。本人に希望を聞いた所、仮装パーティーにしたいの事で、モンスターのパーティーにする事にしました。うちの辺りは被害が軽かったのですが、さすが にスーパーでは食料品が品薄になっていて、メニューをいくつか変更しましたがハロウィーン関連のテーマが嬉しくて、はりきりました。
ゲスト・モン スターの多くがハリケーンの影響を受けたため、状況と交通手段が当日までどうなるか判りませんでしたが、延期出来る日にちが無かったので、とにかく来れる メンバーだけでも、と思い準備を進めました。夫を含め前日や当日まで停電が続き移動ままならなかったモンスター達ばかりで、ゾンビのクマ家族にいたっては 停電が続くなかでやっと車のガソリンを入手しての出席で、皆、やっと息抜きに来れたという感じでした。結果としては全員出席という嬉しい事態になりました。バースデイ・ガールの人徳かな。 皆様、お疲れ様でした!

Mummy burger & Pumpkin puff monster.

Monster cake

Bone cookie

Remi’s first Halloween, as baby Medusa.

