This year, we celebrated Remi’s birthday three times; at home, at her school, and at a hotel in our neighborhood.
It has been such a crazy & wonderful five years, and we’re so grateful to have this little girl in our lives.
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge is a new boutique hotel, right by the Brooklyn bridge. We had a great Manhattan skyline view, and the hotel staff were very nice, they gave Remi the birthday message & sweets in our room. Now the 5 year old wants to live in the hotel forever…
 
This was the last of 3 cakes I made this week. It was 3 different kinds of chocolate cake.
Yeeey, nice hotel!
The view from our room. I was happy to see the ferry terminal and the baby playground, where we used to come a lot when Remi was a baby.
Remi-pizza for the birthday night.
remiupk
Cup cake ships for the pirates party @ school.
++++++++++++++++
娘、レミは5才になりました。未熟児で生まれましたが、今の所大きな病気も怪我もなく、活発なこどもに育っています。
今年は盛大な誕生会をするお友達が多く、本人はクラスメイト全員呼ぶつもりだったようでしたが、色々考えた末、小さなお祝いを3回に分けました。自宅、学校と最後はホテル滞在でお祝いしました。近所の新しいホテルはブルックリンブリッジが目の前で、レミは部屋に入るなり飛び跳ねて喜んでましたが、窓からは赤ちゃんの頃によく行っていた遊び場とフェリー乗り場(用事も無いのによく乗っていた)が見えて、私には感慨深かったです。
普段泊まることのないニューヨーク市内のホテル滞在が楽しかったので、毎年恒例にするのもいいかという夫とホテル好きで検索好きの私も盛り上がった誕生日でした。
ちなみにケーキも3回作ったのですが、3つともチョコレートというリクエストだったので、種類の違うものを3回、なんだか作りすぎて腕が上がった気になってしまいます。学校用はカップケーキを入れる紙の船と旗を作るのに時間がかかりましたが、子供達に一応海賊船だとわかってもらえました。最後のケーキはシュガーペーストで包んだのですが、あまりにも甘いのでレミには剥がして食べるように言ってしまいました。でも、マシュマロの味だと喜んでました。マシュマロがわかったことにびっくりです。