NewYear2014card

Happy New Year!

I hope that 2014 will be a wonderful year for all of you, filled with much love and happiness! Of course, may it also be filled with good food!

This year, I made my very first New Year Japanese meal Osechi ” (お節料理). It was an interesting experience to learn about recipes and meaning of it. I grew up with my mother’s oshechi, but I didn’t know much about it. Everything in these meals have meaning, but personally, I prefer just looking at the boxes. I’ve always eaten very few items of the items inside. I know that for next year’s boxes, I’d get my mom’s recipes for the flavor, and modernize the menu for non-Japanese husband, and hopefully let my daughter experience our original Oshechi in a few years time, which I believe I still have.

あけましておめでとうございます。

昨年は様々な方から多大なサポートを頂き感謝しております。皆様が健やかで幸せな1年を送られますよう願っています。今年もどうぞよろしくお願いします。

さて、今年は初めておせちを作ってみました。もともとお客さんを呼んでいたのですが、日本のスーパーを覗いたら材料が色々売られていて、予定外でしたが純和風にしたくなりました。飾り切りや、伊達巻きをまいたりなどは楽しく、品数が少ないながらなんとか格好はつきました。ただ味のほうは。。。色々なレシピを見て作ってみたので、どうも馴染みのない味ばかりと言う感じでした。元々好んで食べるお正月料理はかなり限られているのでさほど味にこだわっていなかったのですが、やはり食べてみて、もっとおいしい物が食べたい!と思ってしまいました。甘い味付けが多いので外国人にもちょっと難しいメニューではありますが、米国人の夫は母のおせちは沢山食べていた記憶があります(今回はあまり箸が進まなかった!)。来年からは母のレシピを拝借しつつ、徐々に自分なりにアレンジしたものをつくっていければいいな、と思っています。毎年作れるかは判りませんが、娘が物心つくまでにはうちの形にしたいです。

P1130071c栗きんとんは甘さを控えてつくった所、洋風でしたが、おいしく出来ました。伊達巻きは人参入りです。。

P1130089